Monday, May 16, 2016

House Sustains Veto Of Vaccine Information Bill

  Late this afternoon, the Oklahoma House of Representatives voted to override the governor's veto, but not by a sufficient 2/3 majority vote. As a result, the Oklahoma medical community and Oklahoma public schools can continue to force children to be immunized without telling them what is being injected into them.

  What is particularly astonishing is the rationale used by the doctors in the legislature, to justify keeping parents ignorant. Dr Cox of northeast Oklahoma is a primary house proponent of the effort to kill this parental empowerment bill. He clearly argued that if more parents were informed there would be more parents opposing the immunizations.  This is the kind of condescending insults that Oklahoma citizens continually receive from the ruling class.

Names in Red indicate supporter of the original vote on the bill when it first passed the House, but did not support the override.Blue indicates supporter of the override but not the original vote.

HOUSE BILL 3016, Rep. Grau  Parental rights; creating the Parental Rights Immunization Act; effective date.                           
    VETO OVERRIDE W/O EMERGENCY:   FAILED                                                  
         YEAS:   55                                                    RCS# 1603
         NAYS:   38                                                    5/16/2016
         EXC :    8                                                      4:26 PM
         C/P :    0                                                            
    YEAS:   55
    Bennett            Grau               Montgomery         Roberts, S.        
    Brumbaugh          Hall               Moore              Russ              
    Calvey             Hardin             Morrissette        Scott             
    Cannaday           Henke              Mulready           Sears             
    Casey              Johnson            Murdock            Shelton           
    Cleveland          Jordan             Murphey            Strohm            
    Cockroft           Joyner             Newell             Thomsen           
    Coody, J.          Kern               Nollan             Vaughan           
    Cooksey            Kouplen            O'Donnell          Walker            
    Derby              Leewright          Park               Wallace           
    Dunlap             Lepak              Pfeiffer           Wesselhoft        
    Faught             Martin             Proctor            Wood              
    Fisher             McCall             Ritze              Young             
    Goodwin            McDaniel, R.       Roberts, D.       
NAYS:   38
    Banz               Inman              Nelson             Shoemake          
    Biggs              Kannady            Ortega             Stone             
    Billy              Kirby              Osborn             Tadlock           
    Condit             Lockhart           Ownbey             Virgin            
    Coody, A.          Loring             Perryman           Watson            
    Cox                McBride            Peterson           Williams          
    Denney             McCullough         Pruett             Wright            
    Dunnington         McDaniel, J.       Renegar            Mr. Speaker       
    Griffith           McPeak             Rousselot         
    Hoskin             Munson             Sherrer           
    Brown              Christian          Enns               Rogers            
    Caldwell           Echols             Fourkiller         Sanders  

No comments :

Post a Comment